Stakeholder Panels

National Advisory Panel

Our National Advisory Panel (NAP) is a group of national experts in health policy, health services research and health care administration that guide the development of the Center. These individuals have specific capabilities relevant to the safety net and are well positioned to guide formulation of research and assess feasibility for dissemination and implementation.

The NAP serves a dual function:

  1. To represent a stakeholder group of those responsible for implementing system changes at policy and system administration levels.
  2. To serve in a role analogous to a board of directors, reviewing the Center’s annual formative evaluation and providing suggestion for future directions.

Panel Members

Ned Calonge, MD, MPH is president and chief executive officer of The Colorado Trust. Before joining The Colorado Trust, Dr. Calonge served as the Chief Medical Officer of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and Chief of the Department of Preventive Medicine for the Colorado Permanente Medical Group. Dr. Calonge is a member and past President of the Colorado Medical Board and a member of the Board of Directors for the Colorado Health Institute.

Patricia A. Gabow, MD served as chief executive officer of Denver Health from 1992 - 2012. Dr. Gabow is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. She has received the AMA Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Public Servant, the National Healthcare Leadership Award and the David E. Rogers Award from AAMC. She is a member of The Commonwealth Commission for a High Performing Health System and of the federal Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC).

Len Nichols, PhD is the professor of health policy and director of the Center for Health Policy Research and Ethics at George Mason University. Dr. Nichols has served as the Senior Advisor for Health Policy at the Office of Management and Budget during the Clinton Administration’s health reform effort and on the advisory panel to the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Covering America project. He founded and directed Health CEOs for Health Reform, a group that was pivotal in helping policy makers understand the complementary nature of delivery system reform and health insurance reform.

Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH is the president and chief executive officer of AcademyHealth. Prior to joining AcademyHealth, Dr. Simpson served as the Deputy Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Her research focuses on improving the performance of the health care system and includes studies of the quality and safety of care, health and health care disparities and the health policy and system response to childhood obesity.

Alan Weil, JD, MPP is the executive director of the National Academy for State Health Policy. Mr. Weil previously held a cabinet position as Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, was Health Policy Advisor to Colorado Governor Roy Romer, and was assistant general counsel in the Massachusetts Department of Medical Security.

Community Advisory Panel

The Community Advisory Panel (CAP), a group that reflects the ethnic, racial, and socioeconomic profile of the patients who use Denver Health services, provides continuous engagement with the research subprojects conducted within CHSR and ongoing, active dialogue between CHSR’s investigators and the communities we serve. The CAP includes both Denver Health patients and non-patients.

Charlene Barrientos-Ortiz, Panel Moderator